Alumni

Adalena Nanni
Postdoc, University of Florida

2022 Graduate
Lab: Lauren McIntyre, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Email: adalena.nanni@ufl.edu

Chase Kelley
Associate, Life Sciences Research at Foresite Captial

2022 Graduate
Lab: Eric Wang, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Email: cpkelley94@ufl.edu

Franjo Ivankovic
Postdoc, Massachusetts General Hospital & Broad Institute

2022 Graduate
Lab: Carol Mathews, Psychiatry
Email: njofrica@ufl.edu

Vivekananda Budamagunta
Postdoc, University of Florida

2022 Graduate
Lab: Thomas Foster, Neuroscience
Email: v.budamagunta@ufl.edu

Addelynn Sagadevan
Postdoc, Harvard University

2022 Graduate
Lab: Brad Hoffman, Pediatrics
Email: asagadevan@ufl.edu

Leanne Dumeny
Medical Student, University of Florida (MD/PhD)

2021 Graduate
Lab: Larisa Cavallari & Julio Duarte, Phamacotherapy
Email: ldumeny@ufl.edu

Keon Wimberly
Postdoc, University of Florida

2021 Graduate
Lab: Keith Choe, Biology
Email: kwimberl1@ufl.edu

Taylor Paisie
Bioinformatics Engineer, Biotia

2021 Graduate
Lab: Marco Salemi, Pathology
Email: tpaisie@ufl.edu

Brandon Califar
Postdoc, University of Florida

2021 Graduate
Lab: Robert Ferl and Anna-Lisa Paul, Horticultural Sciences
Email: brandoncalifar@ufl.edu

Yuning Liu
Scientist, HD Biosciences, Inc.

2021 Graduate
Lab: Yuqing Li, Neurology
Email: yuningliu@ufl.edu

Zihao Liu
Computer Science Student, Brandeis University

2021 Graduate
Lab: Lauren McIntyre, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Email: zihaoliu@ufl.edu

Brittney Otero
Field Bioinformatic Specialist, Mission Bio

2021 Graduate
Lab: Eric Wang, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Email: brittotero@ufl.edu

Aishwarya Gurumurthy
Postdoc, University of Michigan

2020 Graduate
Lab: Jorg Bungert, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Email: aishuguru@ufl.edu

Chandra Earl
Fellow, Bishop Museum in Hawaii

2020 Graduate
Lab: Akito Kawahara and Rob Guralnick, Florida Museum of Natural History
Email: sunray1@ufl.edu

David Friedman
Biological Science Technician, USDA ARS

2020 Graduate
Lab: James Olmstead, Horticultural Sciences
Email: dfried22@ufl.edu

Enrico Barrozo
Postdoc, Baylor College of Medicine

2020 Graduate
Lab: David Bloom, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Email: enrico.barrozo@bcm.edu

Maria Martinelli
PhD Student at University of Central Florida

2020 Graduate
Lab: Valerie de Crecy-Lagard, Microbiology & Cell Science
Email: manderson4@ufl.edu

Tautvydas Shuipys
Scientist I, Locus Biosciences Inc.

2020 Graduate
Lab: Kevin Folta, Horticultural Sciences
Email: tshuipys@ufl.edu

Dorianmarie Vargas-Franco
Medical Writer Team Supervisor, Brand Institute

2019 Graduate
Lab: James Resnick, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Email: dorian.vargas8@ufl.edu

Kia Fuller
Clinical Research Coordinator III, Pediatrics, University of Florida

2019 Graduate
Lab: Connie Mulligan, Anthropology
Email: kiacfuller1@ufl.edu

Solaleh Khoramian Tusi
Postdoc, Harvard Medical School

2019 Graduate
Lab: Laura Ranum, Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Email: s.tusi@ufl.edu

Tallyta Silva
Postdoc, Universidad Federal de Lavras

2019 Graduate
Lab: Wilfred Vermerris, Microbiology & Cell Science
Email: tnsilva@lbl.gov

Wei Ni
Postdoc, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

2019 Graduate
Lab: Lizi Wu, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Email: weini@ufl.edu

Yong Shen
Co-Founder & CEO of VecX Biomedicines; Founder of U8 World Innovation Summit

2018 Graduate
Lab: Jorg Bungert, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Carol (Ana Caroline) Costa Sá
Senior Data Scientist, Genmab

2017 Graduate
Lab: Julie Johnson, Pharmacotherapy & Translational Research
Email: carolsa@ufl.edu

Heather Kates
Data Management Analyst III, Florida Museum of Natural History

2017 Graduate
Lab: Pam and Doug Soltis, Florida Museum of Natural History
Email: hkates@ufl.edu

Lana McMillan
Associate Director of Discovery, Locus Biosciences

2017 Graduate
Lab: Julie Maupin-Furlow, Microbiology & Cell Science
Email: Lana.mcmillan@locus-bio.com

Lara Ianov
Scientist III, University of Alabama Birmingham

2017 Graduate
Lab: Thomas Foster, Neuroscience
Email: lianov@uab.edu

Jared Stees
Research Assoiciate at RAPiD Genomics, Adjunct Professor at Santa Fe College

2016 Graduate
Lab: Jorg Bungert & Suming Huang, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Email: jstees@gmail.com

Lauren Grace Douma
Research Assistant Professor, University of Florida

2016 Graduate
Lab: Linda Bloom, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Email: ldouma@ufl.edu

Tatiana Salazar
Medical Writer at Cook Research Incorporated

2016 Graduate
Lab: Maria Grant, Endocrinology
Email: t.salazar@ufl.edu

Terry Felderhoff
Associate Scientist, Kansas State University, Agronomy

2016 Graduate
Lab: Wilfred Vermerris, Microbiology & Cell Science
Email: tfelderhoff@ksu.edu

Justin M. Fear
Bioinformatic Engineer II, National Cancer Institute

2015 Graduate
Lab: Lauren McIntyre, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Email: justin.fear@nih.gov

Katherine O’Shaughnessy
Biologist at Environmental Protection Agency

2015 Graduate
Lab: Martin Cohn, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Email: koshaugh@ufl.edu

Tamar Carter
Assistant Professor, Biology, Baylor University

2015 Graduate
Lab: Connie Mulligan, Anthropology
Email: tamerec@ufl.edu

Bret Boyd
Assistant Professor, Center for the Study of Biological Complexity (CSBC), Virginia Commonwealth University

2014 Graduate
Lab: David Reed, Florida Museum of Natural History
Email: boydbm@vcu.edu

Marcio Resende
Assistant Professor, Horticultural Sciences, University of Florida

2014 Graduate
Lab: Forest Genomics Lab, School of Forest Resources & Conservation
Email: mresende@ufl.edu

Ming (Tommy) Tang
Senior Scientist, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

2014 Graduate
Lab: Jianrong Lu, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Email: mingtang@fas.harvard.edu

Patrick Thiaville
Global SME, Microbial Manufacturing Services, Thermo Fisher Scientific

2014 Graduate
Lab: Valérie de Crécy-Lagard, Microbiology & Cell Science
Email: patthia@ufl.edu

Ruli Gao
Assistant Professor, Northwestern

2014 Graduate
Lab: Frederic Kaye, Medicine
Email: ruli.gao@northwestern.edu

Aida Miro
Bioinformatics Associate Librarian, University of Florida

2013 Graduate
Lab: Connie Mulligan, Anthropology
Email: aiditere@ufl.edu

Dustin Blanton
Dean of Academic Affairs, Keiser University

2013 Graduate
Lab: Mark Atkinson, Pathology & Immunology
LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/dustin-blanton-52ba0453/

Guangyao Li
Analytic Consultant, Wealth and Investment Management Risk at Wells Fargo

2013 Graduate
Lab: Lei Zhou, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
LinkedIn: linkedin.com/
in/guangyao-li-16183946/

Hye Won Lee
Postdoc at Non-profit


Lab: Luciano Brocchieri, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Email: hwlee@ufl.edu

Yajie Yang
Postdoc at University of Washington

2013 Graduate
Lab: Lauren McIntyre and Rolf Renne, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Email: yang.yajie@ufl.edu

Yan Yuanqing
Assistant Professor, Neurosurgery, UTHealth Medical School

2013 Graduate
Lab: Maria Grant and Hartmut Derendorf, Pharmacology & Therapeutics
Email: Yuanqing.Yan@uth.tmc.edu

Alireza Nazarian
Researcher, Duke University

2012 Graduate
Lab: Alberto Riva, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Email: alireza.nazarian@duke.edu

Frank Bouchard
Electronics Specialist at Utah Department of Transportation

2012 Graduate
Lab: Marta Wayne, Biology
LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/frank-bouchard-7587b746/

Kai (Carl) Xiao
Senior Vice President at Shanghai Pharmaceuiticles (HK) Investment Ltd.

2012 Graduate
Lab: Mark L. Brantly, Medicine
LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/carlxiao

Shaojun Tang
Assistant Professor of Bioinformatics, Georgetown University

2012 Graduate
Lab: Alberto Riva, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/shaojuntang/

Tong Lin
Biostatistician, St. Jude Children’s Hospital, Memphis, TN

2011 Graduate
Lab: Jianrong Lu, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Email: tong.lin@stjude.org

Yan Ren
Director, Clinical Pharmacology at BeiGene

2011 Graduate
Lab: Jeffrey Hughes, Pharmaceutics
Email: renyan7@outlook.com

X